Long Weekend (1978)

Director: Colin Eggleston

Starring: John Hargreaves, Briony Behets, Mike McEwen

When a suburban couple go camping for the weekend at a remote beach, they discover that nature isn’t in an accommodating mood.

Let this movie be a lesson to treat nature with respect! Don’t, and nature will return the favour!

Peter (John Hargreaves) and Marcia (Briony Behets) are going away for the long weekend, but they’re off to a rocky start. In fact, their relationship seems troubled from the moment we meet them. But it would get much worse…

While Peter was trying hard to make things work between them, Marcia was a real bitch (pardon me for being so blunt!). I swear, this woman did nothing but complain about everything, and I didn’t root for her one bit. Peter on the other hand were trying to make the best of a dire situation, and I actually felt sorry for him on several occasions. It still didn’t give him the right to treat nature with disrespect, though, as his actions so clearly illustrated. He showed total disregard toward animals.

‘Long Weekend’ is an unusual feature film, and personally I believe it would have worked better as a short. Even though this is a relatively short movie, some moments gave me a sense of deja vu. There are only two characters in the film and we watch them as the tension between them increases and their relationship quickly descents into a downward spiral.

Although there’s probably much to learn from ‘Long Weekend’ it is not a film I can easily recommend. I must just add; John Hargreaves looked incredibly sexy in those short white shorts, and that lovely hairy chest!!

‘Long Weekend’ won awards for Best Film and Best Actor.

Would I watch it again? No.

Leave a comment